Skip to content

ABC Vegetarian Food Outlet

May 30, 2010

I stumbled upon the above while looking for “gravel” in the yellow pages, and was quite surprised and pleased to find it.

I called it a little while ago, at 509-838-3168, but got 4 odd, soft rings, and then it just hung up, apparently automatically.

The address is: 15918 E. Euclid, Spokane Valley. There’s another listed, with the same phone number, on Grove, in N. Spokane.

I was thinking it might be something like a vegetarian Grocery Outlet, and might stock some good discounted vegan food.

Has anybody ever heard of or visited it? Was it any good? I get the impression it might be a Seventh Day Adventist establishment, but maybe I’m wrong.

Of course I could just go visit it some time, but any information from anyone who’s seen it would be appreciated.

Thanks!
James

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Debby permalink
    June 30, 2010 6:36 am

    It is a Seventh Day Adventist bookstore/vegetarian food store. There is not a whole lot of food but there are some staples and a few things I haven’t seen elsewhere in the area. I just bought vegetarian shrimp there but I haven’t tried it yet. But there’s some canned foods, frozen “meats”, nutritional yeast, non-dairy milk powder, cookbooks…

    Also, it is the temporary location for the store. The store was located out towards Cheney but was destroyed by fire. The woman working at the store last time I went said she thought it’d be at the Euclid location for another year or so while they rebuild.

  2. July 1, 2010 5:55 am

    Thank you!

    The “Outlet” in their name suggests discounted items, overstocks, remainders, etc., like the Grocery Outlet or Big Lots. Did you get the impression their prices were lower than normal? I think their “Big Franks” are vegan. Did you notice how much a can of those are? (I’ve avoided them for years—much too pricey for me.)

    What kind of “vibe” did you get out of the place. Did you feel “watched”? I’m not anti-Christian or anything, and I may be a little paranoid, but I’m a little nervous about a trap. Not that I think they’re going to kidnap and brainwash me, but I just want to avoid an awkward situation.

  3. Debby permalink
    July 2, 2010 6:33 am

    I did see a lot of canned meats like Linda Loma and such which are kind of expensive but perhaps less so than when I’ve seen them at Rosauer’s and such. But I think I’ve only had those once or twice anyway and they were okay but like you said, expensive. Seems like they had ‘by the case’ prices listed on a lot of things also.

    It is primarily a Seventh Day bookstore in terms of layout and what is stocked but the woman who worked there didn’t try to convert me or anything. She didn’t proselytize or anything which is good. I looked through their dietary books but nothing else, I’m an atheist myself.

    What I would suggest if you go there is that you definitely check the ‘best used by’ dates on things before you buy them. A couple of the items I purchased ended up being past their dates by 6 to 9 months.

    I don’t think I’d go to great lengths to drive out there depending on where you live, I guess, but it’s two minutes from where I work so….

  4. Ron permalink
    July 20, 2010 11:30 am

    The ABC is an Adventist Affiliated Book Store/Food outlet that provides (in regards to food) vegetarian prepared foods as well as other bulk foods for those seeking a non-meat diet. I have never in all my years had anyone try to convert me and the staff are always friendly and helpful. They are temporarily located at the Valley location and will be returning to their Grove Road location when the new facility is built (at least one year). As far as prices are concerned, I typically will stock up during thier big sales months, such as July, when the prices are very competitive. Some stores such as Winco or Wal-mart can beat the individual Morning Star prices but there are other items you will not see anywhere else (and the other stores do not offer bulk on Morning Star) and they try to keep the prices down. I have never had an out of date item but would certainly bring this to their attention. My experience with this store is very good and I recommend it.

  5. November 4, 2010 8:33 am

    veggan foods are always the best for anyones health because it is low fat and low sodium .

  6. August 21, 2011 10:47 am

    I used to go to store on Grove rd. It often had vegan marshmallows, nutritional yeast, vegan dried soup stocks, and many frozen and canned vegan ‘meats’. The staff were always polite and knowledgeable. This vegan atheist appreciated the professional attitude and very much! Never been to the Valley location, but I’ve moved, and an ABC store in the area could be a great source of staples again. Anyone know if that valley store is still open?
    Thank you.

    • Herman Schreven permalink
      August 31, 2011 12:22 pm

      They lost the store on Grove road in a fire in 2008. For the pas two and a half years they have been operating out of a temporary store on Euclid. June, 2011 they moved back to a brand new store at the old, Grove road location.

  7. August 23, 2011 10:20 am

    I rode around on my bike last summer trying to find the one on Euclid, but not being familiar with the area and having a terrible sense of location & direction, couldn’t find it, even though I was on one stretch of “Euclid” or another. (It’s one of those Spokane streets that’s scattered & disconnected all over the place for miles.)
    I know there’s one on Monroe, and I really ought to check it out. I just tend to procrastinate and I’m more “Christian-paranoid” than I ought to be, even though most in my family and a few very good friends are Christian. I’ll keep working on it. I love Big Franks & it’d be a good idea to splurge on a few cans for the long, cold, lonely winter out here in the boondocks.

  8. Dusty permalink
    August 28, 2011 11:03 am

    Hey All. I’m an employee of said store, and an Adventist (and a vegetarian). I wanted to let you know that we have moved back to our old location at 3715 South Grove Road, out towards the airport. Basically, you get off at exit 276, turn south, and we’re the first left south of the freeway (Google has always messed up our location.)
    Also, here’s an attempt to answer some of your questions:
    Our current price on Big Franks is $4.89 per can, which if you ask me is pretty high for food, but we try to stay competative. And of course, our prices from the manufacturers keep going up. The Big Franks are vegan, and pretty tasty if you ask me, but I’ve never tasted the real stuff for comparison.
    On very rare occassions we have items that make it past their use by dates, (we try and clear them out when they get close). Let us know if you find any items past their dates.
    We strive to have very high customer service, so if you have any concerns or questions, just let us know.
    And finally, We try not to watch people, and we will not attempt to convert anyone unless they ask us to 🙂

  9. Lynn Walker permalink
    April 4, 2012 12:52 am

    SDA Bookstore is a great place for vegetarians and vegans to shop. Very helpful and friendly staff and some products you just won’t find anywhere else in Spokane. So glad you’re back in your old location — the new building is beautiful!

Leave a comment