Skip to content

Cherry Chocolate Luna Bar NOT VEGAN!

November 19, 2010

I just made an infuriating discovery today. My brother just arrived for a visit from California and asked if he could have a Luna Bar. I said, “sure, help yourself”. He read the ingredients and told me they had WHEY in them!

I thought I’d thoroughly researched this and on several vegan forums it seemed liked everybody raved about how much they loved them, so I had the impression that they were ALL 100% vegan. I guess you’ve got to really read the fine print!

These little bars cost me over a dollar each, DISCOUNTED. I ordered 2 boxes on-line. I’m going to finish them, because I hate to waste. (I’ve admitted often my veganism is “imperfect”.) But I’m going to boycott Cliff and Luna from now on, and I’m going to let them know about it. I really think it’s sneaky and inconsiderate to vegans not to warn them of their “occasional exceptions” in their products. They should know the impression they give.

Yeah, this really annoys me. JND

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 7:26 am

    Thanks for sharing this, James. It’s a good reminder to keep checking those ingredient labels, not just on Luna bars, but everything that’s processed. Whole foods are better for us all anyway. No need to check for the ingredients of a banana!

  2. November 20, 2010 5:12 pm

    Try LARA bars. They are truly natural and only have 3-6 ingredients…they are dairy and soy free, and most are sugar-free, too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: