Skip to content

Vegan Goods at the Rocket Market

July 18, 2009

Before today, I hadn’t been up to the Rocket Market on 43rd in a long time. But I saw an ad in the Inlander on Thursday advertising vegan cupcakes. How could I not go? Amy and I made a visit to the Market today and were pleased to not only find the promised vegan cupcakes, but also a considerable variety of vegan deli items.

Raspberry Grand Teton

Raspberry Grand Teton cupcake

The cupcakes were dee-licious! We tried the Raspberry Grand Teton and Peanut Butter and Jelly. The ganache on the Grand Teton was rich and decadent and the peanut butter frosting on the PB&J wasn’t overly sweet and actually tasted like peanut butter. I think I’ll be making the trek up to the Market more often now!

Peanut Butter and Jelly cupcake

Peanut Butter and Jelly cupcake

You should definitely go get some of those cupcakes! Did I mention how good they are?

Advertisements
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julio permalink
    August 27, 2009 12:14 am

    Greetings to all. I recently visited Rocket Bakery and asked about the Jelly Belly beans on the vegan cupcakes which are labeled vegan and staff verified the cupcakes are vegan, but there is a discrepancy with the Jelly Belly Company beans on the cupcakes. I was sceptical about vegan Jelly Belly because they have a ingredient in their product called gelatin. According to the book Animal Ingrediants A-Z this is not a vegan ingrediant and also according to other reliable sources. Although you can purchase vegan jelly beans on veganstore.com. I hope this information is helpful.

  2. September 8, 2009 8:21 pm

    Thanks for the tip, Julio! I knew that Jelly Belly uses beeswax in their candy, but I didn’t know about the gelatin. And you’re right, gelatin definitely is NOT vegan, or even vegetarian.

  3. Jennifer permalink
    December 11, 2009 11:40 am

    Actually, Jelly Belly don’t use gelatin in their products, but, yes, their beans are coated with beeswax. If you’re vegetarian, or vegan who consumes beeswax, you’ll be fine. The majority of jelly beans utilize gelatin, but Jelly Belly is one of the few companies who don’t. Aside from the beeswax, they use no animal-derived products. A Google search will validate this.

    • Julio Nunes permalink
      May 2, 2010 11:50 am

      Thank you Jennifer for responding to the post. I was mistaken about the gelatin in the Jelly Belly products and apologize for not making myself clear. As you mentioned before there are companies who do use gelatin in their jelly beans.

      Unfortunately, beeswax is not a vegan product for a variety of reasons. Therefore; the Jelly Belly’s used on the “vegan” cupcakes are not vegan.

      However; stating the cupcakes are vegan is another issue. When stating a product is vegan, the public has the right to know what vegan stands for and what does it means. When a company states a product is vegan other vegan’s and concerned individuals or an individual put their trust in the company assuming it is in fact vegan. Many vegan’s stick to a strict vegan diet and don’t compromise to products they feel strongly about.

      Some may believe it is ridiculous to have these rules and regulations about being vegan while others can be obtuse of the lifestyle. Without morals and believes people don’t have anything to believe in or feel strongly about.

      It can be as silly as beeswax, but there are those who abide to the vegan lifestyle. In this imperfect world it is impossible to be one-hundred percent vegan but those who are, try to give one-hundred percent.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: